Airport Area Chamber of Commerce

Posted by & filed under Media, News.

MARTA Board Elects New Leadership Including First Chair From Clayton County

The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) board of directors elected new leadership at its December 2023 board meeting. Clayton County representative Kathryn “Katie” Powers will serve as chair, and Jennifer Ide, a City of Atlanta representative, will serve as vice-chair.

Starting in January, Katie Powers will become MARTA’s first board chair from Clayton County.

“I am deeply grateful for and honored by this nomination,” said Powers. “As a lifelong resident of Clayton County, I love the opportunity that MARTA offers the place my family and I call home and I am dedicated to diligently working toward that progress. I commit to all of you that I will be a listener, a learner, and a doer. I hope that you will come to trust my judgment, work ethic and dedication.”

“It has been a distinctly high honor to serve as chair, and I appreciate the confidence the board put in me,” said Thomas Worthy, who served as board chair throughout 2023. “I hope I made you proud, and I look forward to continuing the important work of overseeing MARTA’s public transportation system as a member of the board.”

“On behalf of everyone at MARTA, I would like to congratulate Katie on being named as our new board chair,” said MARTA chairman and general manager Collie Greenwood. “I’d also like to thank Thomas for his strong, capable leadership during a historic time for our agency. During his time as board chair, we made tangible improvements to our transit service, enhanced the customer experience at many of our rail stations and bus stops, and made clear progress on expansion projects like MARTA Rapid Summerhill. I look forward to working closely with Katie and the other board officers in the coming year.”

The 2024 MARTA Board Officers are as follows:

  • Katie Powers, Chair
  • Jennifer Ide, Vice-Chair
  • Al Pond, Secretary
  • Rod Frierson, Treasurer
  • Thomas Worthy, Immediate Past Chair


The MARTA board of directors is comprised of 13 voting members representing Clayton, DeKalb, and Fulton counties and the City of Atlanta, and an appointee as the Governor, as well as two ex-officio members from the Georgia Department of Transportation and the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority. The policy-setting board meets monthly to address challenges and opportunities facing the Authority, while exploring ways to innovate and expand the system.

Board calendars and meeting minutes can be found at MARTA (

Article courtesy of Metro Atlanta CEO, published December 11, 2023.